Domestic Violence Charges Require A Vigorous Defense
When a domestic situation deteriorates, there can be terrible mistakes made in the heat of anger. Tennessee, like many states, has taken steps to make penalties for domestic violence (DV) crimes more stringent, and the consequences after a conviction more severe. While this rightfully protects the spouses, domestic partners, relatives and children who may live with someone accused of domestic violence, it can compound the harm if you are wrongfully accused.
Given the severity of the penalties that come with a domestic violence conviction, and the complexity of some family conflicts, you will need an experienced criminal defense lawyer to protect your due process rights. Michael J. Flanagan Attorney at Law has 35 years of experience as an attorney in Tennessee, and can represent your side of the case aggressively if it comes to trial.
How The Law Treats DV Defendants Differently, From Start To Finish Of A Case
Whether you have been accused of spousal abuse or harming other members of your household, it is important to be aware of how the law in Tennessee treats defendants in DV cases. Some of the consequences of facing a DV charge in this state include:
- Those arrested on DV charges are held a minimum of 12 hours before being allowed to post bail, to allow a “cooling-off period”
- Domestic violence is one of the few misdemeanor charges for which a conviction can cause you to permanently lose your rights to own a firearm
- Part of a conviction on a DV charge may require you to attend a months-long batterer intervention program
- Domestic violence charges, both at the misdemeanor and felony levels, are not eligible to be expunged from your criminal record
If you are accused of DV crimes, you need a skilled, thorough defense attorney to advise you of your options and the strongest possible defenses. Do not air your side of the story in the court of public opinion. Talk to our firm and get reliable legal advice and counsel.